Skip to main content
Content Starts Here Search Solutions

Solution Detail

 
Solution TitleI use Mac OSX Lion and I receive a message every time I start Switch saying there is a version change detected. How can I fix this?
Solution Number00000540
Solution Details
Background
In OSX 10.7 (Lion), Apple has changed the standard permissions of the location where we store our preference files. Switch no longer has write permission for this location and therefore it can't write to these files that it already performed the flow updates after the version change. This is the reason why Switch doesn't remember it already did the flow updates and it wants to redo the procedure.

Solution
Please follow these steps to make sure that the following message doesn't appear each time Switch starts:

"A PowerSwitch version change has been detected. PowerSwitch will update your existing flows to ensure full compatibility with this PowerSwitch version. Before starting the update PowerSwitch will export the flows to a backup location in the application data root. All active flows will be deactivated to perform this operation."

- Open the /Library/ folder on your hard disk root
- Right Click (Control click) on the "Preferences" folder and choose "Get Info"
- Check if there is a group called "Administrators" in the Sharing & Permissions" category, if not please create it by clicking the "+" button, choosing "Administrators" from the "Users & Groups" Category and clicking the Select button.
- Change the setting for admin in the Privilege column to "Read & Write"
- Open Switch and let it do the exporting and importing of flows.
- From now on, Switch won't do the importing and exporting of flows when you start-up the application.

 
Does this solution help you answer your question?